19th Aug 1949
Eighteen leading citizens of Mangalore meet at Canara Club to listen to the aims and targets of the Rotary movement. The man responsible for this meeting is M. Venkatesh Pai and the Guest Speaker is Hon. JLP Roche Victoria, then District Governor.

1st Sept 1949
President 1949 to 1958: Rtn. V. S. Kudva
Formal inauguration and first meeting of the Provisional Club was held at 5.30 pm at CPC Hall, Kodialbail and Rotary’s constitution and bye-laws were adopted. VS Kudva was the first President, while M.V. Pai was the first Secretary.

9th Dec 1949
Formal inauguration of our Club by Rtn. Governor G. Wignaraja at “Mohini Vilas”. Also present is Rtn. M.A. Billimoria, Secretary of our sponsor Club, The Rotary Club of Coimbatore.